Library Celebrations and Themes

August 9th is Book Lovers Day: https://ncte.org/blog/2021/08/august-9-book-lovers-day-2/

September is Public Library Card Sign Up Month: https://www.ala.org/conferencesevents/celebrationweeks/card

September 8th is International Literacy Day: https://en.unesco.org/commemorations/literacyday

September 15th-October 15th is Hispanic Heritage Month: https://www.hispanicheritagemonth.gov/about/

October 23rd-31st is Red Ribbon Week: https://www.redribbon.org/

November is Family Literacy Month: https://www.loyola.edu/school-education/blog/2019/ten-ways-to-celebrate-national-family-literacy-month

November is Picture Book Month: http://picturebookmonth.com/

November is Native American Heritage Month: https://nativeamericanheritagemonth.gov/

December 10th is Melvil Dewey's Birthday: https://www.loc.gov/aba/dewey/about-dewey.html

January MLK Day (3rd Monday of the Month): https://americorps.gov/newsroom/events/mlk-day

February is Black History Month: https://www.africanamericanhistorymonth.gov/

February 2nd is World Read Aloud Day: https://www.litworld.org/worldreadaloudday

March is Women's History Month: https://womenshistorymonth.gov/

March 2nd is Read Across America Day: https://www.nea.org/professional-excellence/student-engagement/read-across-america/celebrate-all-year/event-ideas

April is School Library Month: https://www.ala.org/aasl/advocacy/slm/history

April is Poetry Month: https://poets.org/national-poetry-month

April 3rd-9th is National Library Week: https://www.ala.org/conferencesevents/celebrationweeks/natlibraryweek

April is Drop Everything and Read Month (D.E.A.R. Day is April 12th): https://www.readingrockets.org/calendar/dear

April 30th is Dia/Children's Day/Book Day: http://dia.ala.org/

May is Get Caught Reading Month:https://www.readwritethink.org/classroom-resources/calendar-activities/caught-reading-month

May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month: https://asianpacificheritage.gov/

Summer Reading Resources: https://www.readingrockets.org/calendar/summer

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.